By SJ ACADEMY  |  22:53:00 No comments


1. Which of the following is /are the principal features(s) of the Government of India Act, 1919?
1. Introduction of dyarchy in the executive government of the provinces
2. Introduction of separate communal electorates for Muslims
3. Development of Legislative authority by the centre to the provinces

     Select the correct answer using the codes given below:
(a)1 only                                      
(b) 2 and 3 only                                       
(c) 1 and 3 only                                       
(d) 1, 2 and 3
Ans: (c) 1 and 3 only   
2. Who was the President of the Constituent Assembly of Independent India?
(a) DR. Bhim Rao Ambedkar          
(b) Dr. Rajendra Prasad                           
(c) C. Rajagopalachari                            
(d) K.M. Munshi
Ans: (b) Dr. Rajendra Prasad  
3. At which of its session, did the Congress officially accept the ‘Socialistic Pattern of Society’?      
(a) Bombay Session of 1953           
(b) Avadi Session of 1955         
(c) Calcutta Session of 1957             
(d) Nagpur Session of 1959
Ans: (b) Avadi Session of 1955 
4. At the time of enactment of the Constitution, which one of the following ideals was not included in the preamble?   
(a) Liberty                                        
(b) Equality                                
(c) Socialist                                       
(d) Justice
Ans: (c) Socialist      
5. Two independent states of India and Pakistan  were created by:      
(a) The Simla Conference               
(b) The Cripps proposal             
(c) The Cabinet Mission Plan        
(d) The Indian Independence Act
Ans: (d) The Indian Independence Act
6.  The declaration that Democracy is a Government of the people, by the people, for the people was made by:      
(a) Abraham Lincon                         
(b) George Washington                        
(c) Theodre Roosevelt                         
(d) Winston Churchill
Ans: (a) Abraham Lincon  
7. The first definite step to provide parliamentary control over East India Company was taken by:       
(a) The Regulating Act, 1773         
(b) The Pitt’s India Act, 1784               
(c) The Charter Act of 1793           
(d) The Charter Act 1813
Ans: (a) The Regulating Act, 1773 
8. Which Act introduced Dyarchy at the centre?       
(a) Indian Council Act, 1909           
(b) Government of India Act, 1919      
(c) Government of India Act, 1935
(d) The Indian Independence Act, 1947
Ans: (c) Government of India Act, 1935 
9. In Indian Polity which one is Supreme?       
(a) The Supreme Court                    
(b) The Constitution                              
(c) The Parliament                               
(d) Religion
Ans: (b) The Constitution   
10. The distribution of powers between the Centre and the States in the Indian Constitution is based on the 
schemes provided in the
(a) Morley Minto Reforms, 1909      
(b) Montagu- Chelmsford Act, 1919     
(c) Government of India Act, 1935
(d) Indian Independence Act, 1947
Ans: (c) Government of India Act, 1935
11. Through which one of the following were commercial activities of the East India Company finally put to an end?   
(a) The Charter Act of 1793              
(b) The Charter Act of 1813              
(c) The Charter Act of 1833       
(d) The Charter Act of 1853
Ans: (c) The Charter Act of 1833 
12. In Indian Polity, the executive is subordinate to the___      
(a) Judiciary                                     
(b) Legislature                       
(c) Election Commission           
(d) Union Public Service Commission
Ans: (b) Legislature  
13. Which of the following is a basic feature of the Presidential Government?      
(a) Rigid Constitution             
(b) Single Executive                      
(c) Supremacy of the Legislature      
(d) Residual Powers of the States
Ans: (b) Single Executive  
14. Which of the following was the biggest source for the Constitution of India?       
(a) The Government of India Act, 1919            
(b) The Government of India Act, 1935           
(c) The Indian Independence Act, 1947
(e) None of the above
Ans: (b) The Government of India Act, 1935   
15. Which of the following vested the Secretary of State for India with supreme control over the 
Government of India?     
(a) Pitt’s India Act, 1784                                    
(b) Government of India Act, 1858                    
(c) Indian Council Act, 1861   
(d) Morley –Minto Reforms, 1909
Ans: (b) Government of India Act, 1858   
16. The Constitution of India came into force on:      
(a) December 9, 1946                    
(b) January 26, 1949                                
(c) January 26, 1950                          
(d) November 26, 1951
Ans: (c) January 26, 1950   
17. The Supreme Court of India was set up by the___      
(a) Regulating Act, 1773               
(b) Pitt’s India Act, 1784                         
(c) Charter Act, 1813                         
(d) Charter Act, 1833
Ans: (a) Regulating Act, 1773  
18. The Indian Independence Bill received the Royal Assent on__
(a) July 18, 1947                           
(b) July 19, 1947                                     
(c) July 20, 1947                                 
(d) July 21, 1947
Ans: (a) July 18, 1947  
19. In which year did the Parliament adopt Indian Constitution?     
(a) 1947                                           
(b) 1948                                                   
(c) 1950                                              
(d) 1952
Ans: (c) 1950  


8. C